Wishlist Wednesday # 15

Wishlist Wednesday is hosted by Pen to Paper. It is the place to showcase one book that has been on our wishlist. Click on the image if you feel like joining in on the fun.

On My Wishlist is: Half Way Home by Hugh Howey

Blurb from Amazon:
Five hundred of us were sent to colonize this planet. Only fifty or so survived.
We woke up fifteen years too early, we had only half our training, and they expected us to not only survive … they expected us to conquer this place.
The problem is: it isn’t safe here.
We aren’t even safe from each other.

I have mix feelings about the cover. The first time I saw it, I was like “Girl probably escaped from a serial killer in the woods.” The legs are dirty and looked like they have running for miles in the forest. Then, I read the blurb and was like “Yeah, I can see a survival element going on but it still screams serial killer to me.” The blurb does make the novel sound intriguing especially because it is a survival story and the entry makes me wonder what else is out there.

Posted on May 9, 2012, in Wishlist Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. The book sounds good. Has me wanting to pick it up. I am a sucker when it comes to having to know what happened. Finished some really bad books for that reason.
    If you get a chance here is My WoW this Week

  2. Have to agree with the whole “looks like a serial killer” thought. That’s what I thought too, until I read the blurb. The blurb looks good, but the fact that the cover makes me think something completely different…that makes me apprehensive about picking it up.

    • I’m so glad I’m not the only who thought “serial killer.” I understand your apprehension because I’m a bit worried about the book as well. The cover doesn’t entirely match the blurb so that can be problematic. Some covers are deceiving like that. I have read really crappy books that have beautiful covers so I’m willing to try it the reverse.

Leave a message, it can be lonely in Hades

