Review: Killer Bytes by Alan Williams

Title: Killer Bytes
Author: Alan Williams
Series: Standalone
Genre: Crime Novel
Format: E-book
Source: Partners in Crime Tour
Pub. Year: 2012
Purchase: Amazon/Smashwords
I receive this book free of charge in exchange for an honest review.

Blurb from Amazon:
A killer is stalking London; a banker is already dead, killed in an explosion, and there are more victims in the killer’s sights.
Techno geek and Internet journalist, Wil Jackson becomes inadvertently embroiled in the investigation when he interviews one of the murder victims, and the killer starts communicating with Wil via the Internet.
Can Wil help the police stop the killer before the body count increases further?

εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз_εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз_εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз

It feels good to read a crime novel without a serial killer in it. Yes, there is a killer but he has a specific goal in mind.

The motivation for the killings was a dead give away for me (but I read a lot of crime novels, so that may just be me). A banker and a real estate agent tend to usually be tied in the same type of crimes over and over. However, it was interesting to follow how the killer was going to kill the victims and what Wil’s role was in the story. I like Chief Inspector Gavin Price but there were certain moments that felt like he might have been a “dirty” cop in the past. He felt relatively clean and honest so it wasn’t a huge doubt, it was a really small seed though.

Wil took more than his fair share of being an asset to the police. Honestly, he may have done more work in finding the killer’s identity than the police. It was a little skewed towards Wil but it happens. His love interest was the one who threw me for a loop. I wasn’t sure what her role was going to be. Is she just a love interest or is she related to the killer? It was a surprise to see what she brought to the table but it was really lucky for Wil

The best part of the novel is how it brings the setting to life, especially in the beginning, and in turn, it gives the novel a different feel. As an American reader, my attention is brought to the “tube”and “Inspector.” Instead of inspectors, I’m used to reading about detectives so it helps make the setting more realistic. It brings the feelings of “an other” into the story and makes me believe that I’m in London. That is really fantastic because just mentioning Big Ben doesn’t give the reader a feel for London.

My one issue is that I couldn’t get a feel for the characters. I couldn’t picture them in my head too clearly so I had to fill in the blank spots. It wasn’t too bad most of the time. The novel is entertaining and doesn’t allow the reader to wallow in the physical appearance of the characters.

Overall, it was an entertaining crime novel. Like Inspector Price and the London setting. Knew what the motivation for the killer was but it was fascinating to go through the process.

4 BB-Ready for capture

εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз_εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз_εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз

33rd in the 150+ Reading Challenge
Also contributes to: E-book, Self-published,Where are you reading?-London

I receive no monetary compensation for my review.

Posted on April 27, 2012, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Awesome review and post. Thank you!!

  2. Thank you for hosting Killer Bytes as a part of the Partners In Crime tour, and thank you for the great review.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the book, and that I was able to bring the setting alive for you. I’m currently working on the sequel, so hopefully I’ll be able to give those characters a little more life too!

    Thanks again.

    • I love the setting of the book because it was realistic. I’d like to read the sequel to it since I did like the characters, especially the Inspector.
      Thank you for stopping by.

Leave a message, it can be lonely in Hades

