Review and Giveaway: Halo of the Damned by Dina Rae

Title: Halo of the Damned
Author: Dina Rae
Series: Halo # 1
Genre: Paranormal Fantasy
Format: E-book
Source: FMB Tours
Pub. Year: 2012
Purchase: Amz/Eternal Press
I received this novel from FMB Tours in exchange for an honest review.

Blurb from Amazon:
A chain of advertising agencies, a new breed of humans, and a fallen angel to worship…

Andel Talistokov is known for his slick advertising agencies across the globe. He is a fallen angel that uses advertising as a weapon for Satan’s work. His growing power emboldens him to break several of Hell’s Commandments. Furious with his arrogance, Satan commands him to return to Hell after finding his own replacement. Yezidism, an ancient angel worshiping religion, quietly expands throughout the West. Armaros appears as a guest of honor during their ceremonies. He mates with young women to produce nephilim, a mixed race of humans and angels. They are alone and unprepared for their supernatural power. Joanna Easterhouse, a recovering drug addict, steps out of prison shortly after her mother’s fatal accident. She and her sister, Kim, unravel their mother’s secretive past. Intrigued, they learn their bloodline is part of a celestial legacy. Both worlds collide. Halo of the Damned is a horrifying tale that weaves research together with suspenseful twists and turns.

εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз_εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз_εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз

I’m slowly falling in love with books about fallen angels and nephilims. They are very interesting characters because they rejected God but don’t appear to appreciate Satan as well. Nephilims, the children of fallen angels, are just stuck in the middle. Kind of sad that they are fighting a war that they did not start but the sins of the parents tend to carry on.

It was fascinating to learn more about the advertising industry and the Yezidi (which is a legit religion, that is surprising). The worshiping of Satan is a still a mystery to me but I’m more concerned as to what is the purpose of human-made angels on Earth. What is there to gain? It is very important to the worshipers to have an angel yet Satan’s contract doesn’t allow it so where does the idea come from? It is an interesting question that is not answered but perhaps in the second book, it may be.

The dark characters, the bad guys, they are not as interesting as the characters who are considered bad but are walking the fine line between good and evil. The Yezidi followers are not interesting because there isn’t an explanation for what they are doing. What is the end goal? The ones who have reasons for  joining the Yezidi or for following fallen angels, they are interesting. Father Dominick Sardenelli is one character who is walking that line and for good reasons. Rae does an excellent job of providing moral ambiguity to the Father. He felt used and abused by the Catholic Church so he left but he is aware that there is something off with the Yezidi. He is stuck. I like him. Tony is another character walking the fine line as well.

I love Joanna and Tony, they are a great couple. I’m a sucker for opposite-attracting couple and that’s what they are. From the moment Tony meets Joanna, he is a very suave and likeable. It’s very hard to spoil Tony’s character but I like him. I’m glad  he proved he  is worthy of being trusted. Sean and Kim were a hard couple to like but they did grow on me. It was a little hard to like Sean when he had his infatuation with Lydia, Kim’s mother. It seemed kind of wrong to date the daughter after dating the mother but Sean does seem to care for Kim. Plus, she didn’t seem to mind that Sean dated her mother.

My one issue with this novel is how certain moments are lacking in bringing emotions to the reader. I couldn’t feel the horror of reading a detective’s eye be plucked out by birds. It is really visible in the sex scene between Joanna and Tony. Rae tells the reader what is going on but it seems clinical, detached from what is going on. It’s not a style I’m fond of but it only happens in certain scenes. Visually, we can always see what is going on so that is fantastic. It just certain scenes that don’t bring up the expected emotions.

I’m looking forward to the second book. Hopefully, there is an in-depth to the followers of Yezidi because I don’t understand (and  I can usually understand the villains of most books). Plus, Tony is going to be there and I can’t wait to see how he handles his gift.

4.5 BB-Ready for capture, Total keeper

εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз_εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз_εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз

3oth in the 150+ Reading Challenge
Also qualifies for: First in a Series, E-book, Where are you reading?- Illinois

This tour was put together by FMB Blog Tours. I did not receive monetary compensation for reviewing.

εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз_εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз_εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз__εїз_Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ_εїз

GIVEAWAY TIME, INTERNATIONAL

Want to win an e-copy of Halo of the Damned? All you have to do is a leave a comment with your e-mail.

Ends on April 30.
Following is not required.

Posted on April 22, 2012, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Hi Persephone-Thanks for featuring me and reviewing my book, Halo of the Damned. As you suspected, I go into the Yezidi religion more in the second book (currently being written). I want to thank you for such an articulate, well-thought out review. As you mentioned, the Yezidi religion is real and Satan is their favorite angel. Glad you enjoyed it! Dina Rae

    • Hi Dina, thank you for stopping by. I was surprised to find out that the Yezidi religion is a real religion. I’m looking forward to reading more about them in the second book. It was a great book to read.

  2. This sounds great. I’m starting to love books about fallen angels and nephilim too!
    I’m not a big fan of books where sex scenes feel clinical, but I think that this one sounds like it’s worth a chance.
    Great review!
    Contact me on twitter @bookworm_sarah

    • The sex scenes feel clinical because they don’t last half a page so there isn’t a lot of description. It is a hit it and quit it description of sex which diminishes the sex scenes to passing glances.

      However, I do recommend the book because it’s well-written. The nephilim are different and the fallen angels are not seeking redemption which makes the book interesting.

  3. I, too, enjoyed Dina’s book, Halo of the Damned…Persephone is perceptive, of course. Dina has left us anticipating a sequel 🙂 Most particularly interested in how Joanna and Tony get on, and when are some forces for good going to get involved…can’t be letting the Fallen having their own way completely. Wonderful work Dina! Congrats on a great book.

    • I didn’t think about involvement of the forces of good in the series. If they do show up, it is going to be interesting to see the interactions between the forces of good and the nephilim (since their parentage might bring up certain biases). I’m so glad you liked Joanna and Tony as well.

  4. Again, thanks for all the wonderful comments, the review, featuring me, etc. Had a wonderful time on your blog. Dina RAe

  5. I like the story. I wasn’t into the sex as much as the story. I find I like her story telling technique and was totally involved with the concept of this new religion. I had never heard of it before so it was educational to me too. I think she had a new and engrossing concept therefore I am looking forward to her next book.

Leave a message, it can be lonely in Hades

